Logo ING
Satellites and Tidal Streams
ING-IAC Joint Conference
La Palma, Canary Islands, Spain — May 26-30, 2003
Logo IAC
Organization  •  Instructions  •  Program  •  About La Palma
Latest Updates:

Satellites in Cold Dark Matter Simulations
Artist view of Sagittarius Tidal Stream

Credit for images:
A. Klypin, NMSU, USA;
G. Pérez and D. Martinez Delgado, IAC
Conference photos are ready. Have a look!
Submit your contribution to the Conference Proceedings
The deadline was August 31, 2003


* Organization
  The conference is organized by the Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (ING), La Palma, and the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC), Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain. The conference will be held at Hotel H10 Taburiente Playa, Los Cancajos, La Palma.
* Scientific Aim:
  Current cosmological models predict that galaxies form through the merging of smaller substructures. Satellites and tidal streams might then represent the visible remains of the building blocks of giant galaxies. They therefore provide important information on the merging history and galaxy formation in the Universe.
In this conference the observational evidence for substructures, their internal structure and their dynamical evolution and disruption within the tidal field of the host galaxy will be discussed and confronted with theoretical cosmological predictions of hierarchical merging and galaxy formation.

Main topics to be discussed:
  • Dark Matter in Galaxies
  • Galactic halo substructure and the formation of the Milky Way
  • Satellites and CDM Models: The dark matter content of Dwarf Spheroidals
  • Mass substructure from gravitational lensing
  • Tidal streams and the disruption of satellite galaxies
  • Galaxy formation and the faint end of the Luminosity Function
* Scientific Organizing Committee:
  A. Burkert (Germany), M. Irwin (UK), A. Klypin (USA), S. Majewski (USA), D. Martínez-Delgado (Spain, co-chair), M. Mateo (USA), F. Prada (Spain, co-chair), R. Rebolo (Spain), P. Schneider (Germany) and R. Zinn (USA)
* Local Organizing Committee:
  F. Prada (chair), D. Martínez-Delgado, R.L.M. Corradi, J. Méndez, A. Zurita, J. Licandro, J. de Araoz, T. Karthaus, E. Bejarano
* Contact:
  Francisco Prada & David Martínez-Delgado. Email: sattail@iac.es

Web site created and maintained by the IAC's S.I.E. de Investigación: invweb@iac.es
    E-mail: sattail@iac.es
Last updated: Sep 08, 2003