to IAU
Symposium 241

Stellar Populations as Building Blocks of Galaxies

The conference is organized by the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC) and will be held from 10-16 December, 2006 at  La Palma, Canary Islands, Spain. See here a small map of La Palma, or a more detailed map.

Main Topics

  • Stellar tracks and isochrones.
  • Theoretical and empirical stellar spectral libraries.
  • Simple and complex stellar population models and their calibration.
  • Stellar populations in our Galaxy.
  • Resolved stellar populations.
  • Unresolved stellar populations in nearby early-type galaxies.
  • Unresolved stellar populations in nearby late-type galaxies.
  • Stellar Populations at higher redshifts.
  • New observing facilities and the network, and their implication for stellar populations.
A more detailed programme can be found here.

Invited Speakers


  • J. Bland-Hawthorn
  • S. Cassisi
  • S. Charlot
  • R. Cid-Fernandes
  • E. Grebel
  • B. Gustafsson
  • P. Kroupa
  • G. Meynet
  • J.A. Rose
  • E. Tolstoy
  • T. Kodama

Guest Lecture on GTC 10.4m Telescope

  • J.M. Rodríguez-Espinosa

"Challenge" discussion leaders

  • S. Trager
  • A. Weiss

Poster Summaries

  • J. Andersen
  • J. Beckman
  • S. Heap
  • P. Stetson
  • U. Fritze

Conference Summary

  • A. Renzini

Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC)

Antonio Aparicio IAC, Spain
Nobuo Arimoto NAOJ, Japan
Beatriz Barbuy IAG-USP, Brazil
Alessandro Bressan Obs. Astron. Padova, Italy
Gustavo A. Bruzual CIDA, Venezuela
Roger L. Davies Univ. Oxford, UK
Javier Gorgas Univ. Complutense Madrid, Spain
Timothy M. Heckman Johns Hopkins Univ., USA
Guinevere Kauffmann MPA Garching, Germany
Reynier F. Peletier (Co-Chair) Kapteyn Inst., The Netherlands
James A. Rose Univ. North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
Donald A. Vandenberg Univ. Victoria, Canada
Alexandre Vazdekis (Co-Chair) IAC, Spain

Local Organizing Committee (LOC, IAC)

Judith de Araoz Carme Gallart
Marc Balcells Artemio Herrero
Michael Beasley Conrado Carretero
John E Beckman Tanja Karthaus
Eva Bejarano Noelia Noël
Nicola Caon Jorge A. Pérez Prieto
José Luis Cervantes Alexandre Vazdekis (Chair)
Adriana de Lorenzo-Cáceres  


The Symposium is organized by the IAC and is sponsored and supported by the IAU.

IAC Logo
IAU Logo

Additional support has been provided by the Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (ING), Ministerio de Educación y Ciencia, Patronato de Turismo de La Palma, Ayuntamiento de Los Llanos de Aridane, Ayuntamiento de El Paso and  Ayuntamiento de Breña Baja.  We are seeking for further supporting institutions.

ING Logo
Logo MEC
Patronato de Turismo de La Palma Ayuntamiento de los Llanos de Aridane Ayuntamiento de El Paso Ayuntamiento de Breña Baja


© 2006 IAC - XHTML CSS About