With the advent of the new generation of galaxy surveys, such as eBOSS, DES, DESI, EUCLID, HETDEX, J-PAS, J-PLUS, LSST, PAU, Taipan, Vipers, Wallaby, WEAVE, WFIRST, or 4MOST, we will be able to map the large scale structure of the Universe with unprecedented accuracy. Similarly, after the success of the WMAP and the PLANCK satellite missions, we have obtained a precise snapshot of the Cosmic Microwave Background. 

By combining both of these observational data, we will have the opportunity to reveal the detailed expansion and growth history of the Universe, and answer some of the most important questions in cosmology: What is dark matter, what are its properties, and how is it related to the galaxy distribution? What is dark energy and how does it trigger the expansion of the Universe?

To capitalize on this opportunity, there is a need to improve theoretical models and to refine analysis methods which permit us to fully exploit current and upcoming observations, which will be the main focus of this summer school.

The school will provide a wide overview on several major topics in cosmology (inflation, CMB, CMB cross-correlations, reionization, 21-cm, Ly-alpha forest, galaxy surveys, large scale structure analysis, BAO, RSD, higher order statistics, neutrinos, cosmic voids, perturbation theory, etc), and also provide a critical look at our current understanding and, more importantly, at the topics which demand further investigation.

This summer school is especially addressed to master students, PhD students and young postdocs. It aims at having a workshop atmosphere with a large number of lecturers representing different branches of cosmology. This will enable many chances to interact and discuss forefront science.​​​​​​​
BOSS Pie​​​​​​​

Confirmed plenary lecturers:​​​​​​​
  • Nabila Aghanim
  • Andrea Ferrara
  • Will J. Percival
  • Rien van de Weygaert
  • Yun Wang

Focused lecturers:​​​​​​​

  • Raúl E. Angulo
  • Andrés Balaguera-Antolínez
  • Belén Barreiro
  • Diego Blas
  • Silvia Bonoli [could not attend]
  • Chris Brook
  • Marius Cautun
  • Jens Chluba
  • Martín Crocce
  • Antonio J. Cuesta
  • Claudio Dalla Vecchia
  • Arianna di Cintio
  • Bridget Falck
  • Andreu Font Ribera
  • Ricardo T. Génova Santos
  • Hector Gil Marín
  • Carlos Hernández Monteagudo
  • Francisco-Shu Kitaura
  • Ruth Lazkoz​​​​​​​ [could not attend]
  • Vicent Martínez
  • Olga Mena [could not attend]
  • R. Benton Metcalf
  • Sergio Pastor Carpi
  • José-Alberto Rubiño Martín
  • Zachary Slepian
  • Jenny Sorce​​​​​​​
  • David Valls-Gabaud [could not attend]
  • Yi Zheng
  • Miguel Zumalacárregui Pérez



The "Red de Cosmología a través del fondo cósmico de microondas y la estructura a gran escala" (AYA2015-71855-REDT) has supported this meeting.